Profile in Brief

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version

President Mahinda Rajapaksa



The 5th President of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka. He assumed his second term of office on November 19, 2010.

He established a record in Sri Lankan political history with being the first Executive President to lead his party to a landslide victory in Parliamentary Elections held just over two months after being elected for a second term of office as Executive President with an overwhelming majority of 1,842,749, polling 6,015,934 votes.

His success in Presidential and Parliamentary Elections in January and April, 2010 came after a series of sweeping victories in elections to eight Provincial Councils by the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) led by him. The UPFA now has an over two thirds majority in parliament.

He was elected for a second term of office in the Presidential Election held on January 26, 2010, with the Sri Lankan electorate recognizing him as the national leader who liberated the country from the terrorism of the Liberation Tigers of Tamil Eelam (LTTE), and set the country on the path to peace and rapid economic development.

Mahinda Rajapaksa was first elected President of Sri Lanka in 2005 on a wide-ranging and largely people-oriented policy as laid out in the “Mahinda Chintana”

He now leads the country towards post-conflict reconstruction and reconciliation.


He succeeded his father DA Rajapaksa to Sri Lanka’s Parliament in 1970 at age 24 from the Beliatta electorate. He was then the youngest Member of Parliament and represented the same electorate his father did from his first election in 1947.

He was the Minister for Labour & Vocational Training and of Fisheries in President Kumaratunga's Cabinet from 1994 to 2001.

He also held the portfolio of the Ports and Shipping in addition to Fisheries, for three months

He was the Leader of the Opposition from 2002 to 2004

He was chosen as the 13th Prime Minister in April 2004. He had by then risen to the position of senior Vice President of the SLFP.

From the time he was chosen Prime Minister in April 2004 till his election as President, he also held the portfolio of Highways

Early years

The second son in a family of six brothers and three sisters

Born in Weeraketiya in Sri Lanka’s Deep South, on November 18, 1945

First schooling at Richmond College, in the southern city of Galle. His education was later shifted to Nalanda College and Thurstan College in Colombo. He later studied law at the Colombo Law College, and qualified as an Attorney-at-Law.

He took oaths as an Attorney-at-Law in November 1977. He practiced law mainly in the southern town of Tangalle

International relations

Committed to the principles of Non-Alignment and maintaining friendly relations with all nations and a strong supporter of the principles and objectives of the United Nations.

He is currently the Chairman of the Group of 15 (G 15) which will hold its 15th Summit in Sri Lanka in 2012. The Chairmanship is for a two year term.

He was elected Chairman of the eight-member South Asian Association of Regional Cooperation (SAARC) at the 15th SAARC Summit held in Colombo in August 2008, taking over the Chair of SAARC from India. He relinquished his position at the 16th Summit to Prime Minister of Bhutan, Jigmi Thinley.


Awarded an Honorary Doctorate by the Peoples’ Friendship University of the Russian Federation in February, 2010 at the 50th anniversary celebrations of the University.

The Visva Bharati University of Calcutta in India conferred on him the title Professor Emeritus for his record on human rights.

The University of Colombo conferring on him the degree of Doctor of Laws in 2009.


He is married to Shiranthi Wickramasinghe Rajapaksa and has three sons, Namal (Member of Parliament), Yoshitha (Officer of the Navy) and Rohitha.

Further details at :






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 05, 2011.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.