BannerSide.jpg (9482 bytes)
Back.jpg (2393 bytes) Home.jpg (2357 bytes)

Mahinda Yapa bids farewell to his new post
[16 Nov 2000]

Matara District's Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene who contested for the recent October 10, General Elections, resigned from his Parliamentary seat to take up duties in his post as the Southern Province Chief Minister.  

The Minister Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene resigned from his seat on Tuesday [14].  He was one of the five Provincial Chief Ministers who contested for elections.  

Today, 16 November, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene is scheduled to be sworn-in as the Chief Minister by Governor of the Southern Province, Ananda Dassanayake.  

Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene being the second member of the Parliament to resign from his seat, S B Nawinna former Chief Minister of the North Western Province, resigned from his Parliamentary seat earlier this month to revert to the Chief Ministerial post.  

Three other Chief Ministers Nandimithra Ekanayake [Central] Athauda Seneviratne [Sabaragamuwa] and Susil Premajayantha [Western] who won the recently held elections have received Ministerial portfolios in the new government.  

The vacancy was created due to the resignation of Mahinda Yapa Abeywardene will be filled by Dharmavijaya Dahanayake who has received next highest preferential votes.  



LineBlack.jpg (4850 bytes)

blue sqButton.jpg (1703 bytes) Contact Information: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site. Last modified: August 30, 2004.