BannerSide.jpg (9482 bytes)

New Cabinet sworn in today
[December 12, 2001 - 13.30 GMT]

The new Ministers of the United National Front Government took oaths before President Chandrika Bandaranaike Kumaratunga at Presidentís House Wednesday evening.

Cabinet Ministers:

Ranil Wickremasinghe

Prime Minister
Minister of Policy Development & Implementation

Karu Jayasuriya 

Minister of Power & Energy

Gamini Athukorala

Minister Transport, Highways & Aviation

K. N. Choksy

Minister of Finance

Tilak Marapana

Minister of Defence

S. B. Dissanayake 

Minister of Agriculture & Livestock

G. L. Peiris 

Minister of Enterprise Development, Industrial Policy & Investment Promotion
Minister of Constitutional Affairs

Tyronne Fernando

Minister of Foreign Affairs

Rauf Hakeem 

Minister of Port Development & Shipping
Minister of Eastern Development & Muslim Religious Affairs

Arumugam Thondaman

Minister of Housing & Plantation Infrastructure

Mahinda Wijesekera Minister of Fisheries & Ocean Resources

Mrs. Amara Piyaseeli Ratnayake 

Minister of Women's Affairs

W. J. M. Lokubandara

Minister of Justice, Law Reform & National Integration 
Minister of Buddha Sasana

Gamini Jayawickrema Perera

Minister of Irrigation & Water Management

Rukman Senanayake Minister of Environment & Natural Resources

Alick Aluvihare

Minister of Home Affairs, Provincial Councils & Local Government

P. Dayaratne

Minister of Health, Nutrition & Welfare

John Amaratunga

Minister of Interior

Lakshman Kiriella 

Minister of Plantation Industries

Gamini Lokuge

Minister of Tourism

Ananda Kularatne 

Minister of Southern Region Development

Mohamad Hanifa Mohamed

Minister of Western Region Development

Tissa Attanayake 

Minister of Central Region Development

Bandula Gunawardena

Minister of Rural Economy 

Abdul Cader

Minister of Cooperatives

Non-Cabinet Ministers

Karunasena Kodituwakku

Minister of Human Resource Development, Education & Cultural Affairs

Mahinda Samarasinghe

Minister of Employment & Labour

Vajira Abeywardena 

Minister of Public Administration, Management & Reforms 

Kabeer Hasheem 

Minister of Tertiary Education & Training

Imthiyas Bakeer Markar

Minister of Mass Communication

Ravindra Samaraweera

Minister of Social Welfare

Lakshman Seneviratne

Minister of Water Management

H. G. P. Nelson

Minister of Irrigation 

A. H. M. Azwer

Minister of Parliamentary Affairs

P. Harison

Minister of Housing Development

Suranimala Rajapakse

Minister of School Education

Jayathilaka Podinilame 

Minister of North-West Region Development

A. D. Sirisena Rupasinghe

Minister of Samurdhi

Johnston Fernando

Minister of Youth Affairs & Sports

Lal Dharmapriya Gamage

Minister Assisting Foreign Affairs

Jayalath Jayawardena 

Minister of Rehabilitation, Resettlement & Refugees

Earl Gunasekera

Minister of Home Affairs, Local Government & Provincial Councils

Periyasamy Sandrasekeran 

Minister of Estate Infrastructure

Thiyagarajah Maheswaran 

Minister of Hindu Affairs

Rohitha Bogollagama

Minister of Industries

Susantha Punchinilame 

Minister of Small Holder Development

Mohamed Maharoof

Minister of Urban Public Utilities

Athaullah Marikkar

Minister of Highways

Upali Piyasoma

Minister of State Transport

Noordeen Mashoor

Minister Assisting Vanni Rehabilitation

Rajitha Senaratne 

Minister of Land

Ravi Karunanayake

Minister of Commerce & Consumer Affairs

Milinda Moragoda

Minister of Economic Reform, Science & Technology


Deputy Ministers

Sajith Premadasa

Deputy Minister of Health

Naveen Dissanayake

Deputy Minister of Plantation Industries

Indika Bandaranayake 

Deputy Minister of Environment & Natural Resources

Sagala Ratnayake 

Deputy Minister of Power & Energy

Muththu Sivalingam 

Deputy Minister of Agriculture & Livestock

Basheer Segu Dawood 

Deputy Minister of Housing

Mohideen Abdul Cader 

Deputy Minister of Fisheries

Mahinda Wijesekera 

Deputy Minister of Southern Region Development

Bandula Gunawardena

Deputy Minister of Finance




LineBlack.jpg (4850 bytes)

blue sqButton.jpg (1703 bytes) Contact Information: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site. 
Last Updated Date: December 12, 2001  -  13.30 GMT.