Secretaries appointed to Ministries
[April 21, 2004 - 6.00 GMT]

President Chandrika Kumaratunga yesterday appointed Secretaries to the 35 ministries in the new Government, under Article 52 (1) of the Constitution. 

These senior officials will function as the chief executives of their ministries and will be responsible for all financial and administrative functions.

[Full list]

1. Mr. Tilak Ranaviraja - Ministry of Public Security, Law and Order

2. Dr. P. B. Jayasundera - Ministry of Finance

3. Mr. S. Amarasekera - Ministry of Highways

4. Mr. S. C. Manapperuma - Ministry of Public Administration and Home Affairs

5. Dr. P. Ramanujam - Ministry of Estate Community Infrastructure

6. Mr. Mahinda Gammampila - Ministry of Labour Relations and Foreign Employment

7. Mr. Thosapala Hewage - Ministry of Urban Development and Water Supply

8. Mr. C. Maliyadda - Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications and Udarata Development

9. Mr. D. W. Abeywickrema - Ministry of Buddha Sasana

10. Mr. D. Dissanayake - Ministry of Environment and Natural Resources

11. Mr. W. G. Mittraratne - Ministry of Science and Technology

12. Dr. Tara de Mel - Ministry of Education

13. Mr. F. R. Maligaspe - Ministry of Healthcare, Nutrition and Uva-Wellassa Development

14. Mr. Ariyaratne Hewage - Ministry of Ports and Aviation

15. Dr. U. Vidanapathirana - Ministry of Industry, Tourism and Investment Promotion

16. Mr. A. M. Chandrapala - Ministry of Provincial Councils and Local Government

17. Mr. S. Ranugge - Ministry of Sports and Youth Affairs

18. Mr. J. Abeywickrema - Ministry of Plantation Industries

19. Mr. P. M. Leelaratne - Ministry of Small and Medium Enterprise Development

20. Mr. P. Weerahandi - Ministry of Power and Energy

21. Miss M. N. Kuruppu - Ministry of Christian and Parliamentary Affairs

22. Mr. L. D. C. Herath - Ministry of Defence

23. Mr. P. Subhasinghe - Ministry of Regional Infrastructure Development

24. Mrs. M. S. Rajapakse - Ministry of Women's Empowerment and Social Welfare

25. Mr. W. A. Karunasena - Ministry of Indigenous Medicine

26. Mrs. S. M. Karunaratne - Ministry of Housing and Construction Industry, Eastern Province Education and Irrigation Development

27. Mr. K. Kalupahana - Ministry of Infrastructure Development in the Eastern Province

28. Mr. H. M. G. S. Palihakkara - Ministry of Foreign Affairs

29. Mr. T. Hapangama - Ministry of Samurdhi and Poverty Alleviation

30. Prof. Dayantha Wijesekera - Ministry of Skills Development, Vocational and Technical Education

31. Dr. D. S. Jayaweera - Ministry of Transport

32. Mr. W. B. Ganegala - Ministry of Information and Media

33. Mr. S. Wirithamulla - Ministry of Trade, Commerce and Consumer Affairs

34. Mr. K. Mahanandan - Ministry of Agricultural Marketing Development, Hindu Affairs and Tamil Language Schools and Vocational Training (North)

35. Mrs. Malkanthi Wickremasignhe - Ministry of Constitutional Reforms









Contact Information: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site. 
Last Updated Date: April 21, 2004  - 6.00 GMT.


Today's Stories


Secretaries appointed to Ministries