New Cabinet of Ministers sworn in

[Sunday, January 28, 2007 - 9.40 GMT]   

President Mahinda Rajapaksa today carried out the first reshuffle of the Cabinet since he assumed office in November 2005.

Fifty one Members of Parliament were sworn in as Cabinet Ministers before the President at the assembly hall of the Presidential Secretariat.

The new Cabinet of Ministers will include 10 members from the Opposition United National Party (UNP) who have crossed over to the Government. The former Deputy Leader of the UNP, Mr. Karu Jayasuriya was sworn in as Minister of Public Administration and Home Affairs. In all there are 10 members of the UNP in the new Cabinet.

Thirty Three Non-Cabinet Ministers and 19 Deputy Ministers were also sworn before the President today.

The leader of the SLMC, Mr. Rauff Hakeem also took his oaths as Minister of Posts and Telecommunications, leading MPs from the SLMC who are joining the

President Mahinda Rajapaksa retained his portfolios of Defence, Public Security, Law and Order, Religious Affairs, Finance and Planning, and Nation Building.

Following are the new Cabinet Ministers, Non-Cabinet Ministers and Deputy Ministers who took their oaths today (January 28, 07) before President Mahinda Rajapaksa.


Cabinet Ministers and Portfolios

Hon. Ratnasiri Wickramanayake

Prime Minister & Minister of Internal Administration

Hon. Anura Bandaranaike

Minister of National Heritage

3 Hon. D. M. Jayaratne Minister of Plantation Industries
4 Hon. Nimal Siripala de Silva Minister of Healthcare and Nutrition
5 Hon. Mangala Samaraweera Minister of Ports & Aviation
6 Hon. A. H. M. Fowzie Minister of Petroleum & Petroleum Resources
7 Hon. Jeyaraj Fernandopulle Minister of Highways & Road Development
8 Hon. Maithripala Sirisena Minister of Agricultural Development &
Agrarian Services Development
9 Hon. Susil Premajayantha Minister of Education
10 Hon. Karu Jayasuriya Minister of Public Administration and Home Affairs
11 Hon. Arumugam Thondaman Minister of Youth Empowerment and Socio Economic Development
12 Hon. Rauff Hakeem Minister of Posts & Telecommunication
13 Hon. Dinesh Gunawardena Minister of Urban Development and Sacred Area Development
14 Hon. Douglas Devananda Minister of Social Services and Social
15 Hon.  (Mrs.) Ferial Ashraff Minister of Housing and Common Amenities
16 Hon. P.Chandrasekeran Minister of Community Development and Social Inequity Eradication
17 Hon. A. L. M. Athaullah Minister of Water Supply and Drainage
18 Hon. (Prof) Tissa Vitharana Minister of Science and Technology
19 Hon. D. E. W. Gunasekera Minister of Constitutional Affairs &
National Integration
20 Hon. Abdul Risath Bathiyutheen Minister of Resettlement and
Disaster Relief Services
21 Hon. P. Dayaratne Minister of Plan Implementation
22 Hon. R. M. Dharmadasa Banda Minister of Supplementary Crops
23 Hon. M.H. Mohomed Minister of Parliamentary Affairs
24 Hon. (Prof) G. L. Peiris Minister of Export Development &
International Trade
25 Hon. John Seneviratne Minister of Power & Energy
26 Hon. (Mrs.) Sumedha Jayasena Minister of Child Development and
Women's Affairs
27 Hon. (Dr.) Sarath Amunugama Minister of Enterprise Development &
Investment Promotion
28 Hon. Milroy Fernando Minister of Public Estate Management &
29 Hon.  Jeewan Kumaranatunga Minister of Land and Land Development
30 Hon. Pavithra Wanniarachchi Minister of Youth Affairs
31 Hon. Anura Priyadarshana Yapa Minister of Media and Information
32 Hon. Tissa Karaliyadde Minister of Indigenous Medicine
33 Hon. Athauda Seneviratne Minister of Labour and Manpower
34 Hon. Gamini Lokuge Minister of Sports and Public Recreation
35 Hon. Bandula Gunawardena Minister of Trade, Marketing Development,
Cooperatives and Consumer Affairs
36 Hon. Mahinda Samarasinghe Minister of Disaster Management and
Human Rights
37 Hon. Rajitha Senaratne Minister of Construction and Engineering Services
38 Hon. Mahinda Wijesekera Minister of Special Projects
39 Hon. Milinda Moragoda Minister of Tourism
40 Hon. Keheliya Rambukwelle Minister of Foreign Employment Promotion
and Welfare
41 Hon. Piyasena Gamage Minister of Vocational and Technical Training
42 Hon. R. M. S. B. Navinne Minister of Rural Industries &
Self-Employment Promotion
43 Hon. Janaka Bandara Tennekoon Minister of Local Government and
Provincial Councils
44 Hon. Felix Perera Minister of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources
45 Hon. R. M. C. B. Rathnayake Minister of Livestock Development
46 Hon. Rohitha Bogollagama Minister of Foreign Affairs
47 Hon. Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena Minister of Cultural Affairs
48 Hon. (Prof) Wiswa Warnapala Minister of Higher Education
49 Hon. Chamal Rajapaksa Minister of Irrigation and Water Management
50 Hon. Kumara Welgama Minister of Industrial Development
51 Hon. Dullas Alahaperuma Minister of Transport

The Minister of Justice Hon. Amarasiri Dodangoda did not participate in the oath taking as he is indisposed.

Non-Cabinet Ministers and their subjects

Hon. Salinda Dissanayake Minister of Coconut Development
Hon. Dilan Perera Minister of Justice
3 Hon. Hemakumara Nanayakkara Minister of Agriculture
4 Hon. Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena Minister of Media


Hon. M. N. Abdul Majeed

Minister of


6 Hon. Ameer Ali Sihabdeen Minister of Disaster Relief Services
7 Hon. A. P. Jagath Pushpakumara Minister of Nation Building
8 Hon. R. A. Jayatissa Minister of Textile Industries
9 Hon. Chandrasiri Gajadeera Minister of Home Affairs
10 Hon. T. B. Ekanayake Minister of Highways
11 Hon. Mahinda Amaraweera Minister of Water Supply
12 Hon. Rohitha Abeygunawardana Minister of Nation Building
13 Hon. Anwar Ismail Minister of Irrigation
14 Hon. S. M. Chandrasena Minister of Nation Building
15 Hon. Bandula Basnayake Minister of Sports
16 Hon. Gunaratna Weerakoon Minister of Nation Building
17 Hon. Sripathi Suriyarachchi Minister of Port Development
18 Hon. D. M. Dassanayake Minister of Nation Building
19 Hon. Pandu Bandaranaike Minister for Religious Affairs
20 Hon. Mahindananda Aluthgamage Minister of Power
21 Hon. (Dr.) Mervyn Silva Minister of Labour
22 Hon. Naveen Dissanayake Minister of Investment Promotion
23 Hon. Jayaratna Herath Minister of Health Promotion & Disease  
24 Hon. Dayashiritha Tissera Minister of Skills Development
25 Hon. Duminda Dissanayake Minister of Petroleum Resources
26 Hon. Ranjith Siyambalapitiya Minister of State Revenue and Finance
27 Hon. Lasantha Alagiyawanna Minister of Road Passenger Transport
28 Hon.  Rohana Kumara Dissasnayake Minister of Urban Development
29 Hon. Nirmala Kothalawala Minister of Education Services
30 Hon. Cegu Isadeen Minister of Export Development
31 Hon. H. R. Mithrapala Minister of Consumer Affairs
32 Hon. Basheer Cegu Dawood Minister of Local Government
33 Hon. Mano Wijeratna Minister of Enterprise Development



Deputy Ministers and their subjects

Hon. Sangaralingam Sellasamy Posts
Hon. Muttu Sivanlingam Estate Infrastructure
3 Hon. G. V. Susantha Punchinilame Public Estate Management and
4 Hon. Siripala Gamlath Agrarian Services


Hon. Hussein Bhaila Foreign Affairs
6 Hon. Faizer Mustapha Tourism
7 Hon. Murugan Satchithanandan Education
8 Hon. P. H. Lionel Premasiri Social Services & Social Welfare
9 Hon. W. B. Ekanayake Highways
10 Hon. Suresh Vadivel Health
11 Hon. Chandrasiri Suriarachchi Land and Land Development
12 Hon. M. M. Musthapha Higher Education
13 Hon. Shanmugam Jegathgeeswaran National Integration
14 Hon. Edward Gunasekera Railways
15 Hon. Naomal Perera Fisheries
16 Hon. Sarath Kumara Gunarathna Aviation
17 Hon. M. T. Hassan Ali Supplementary Crops Development
18 Hon. K. Abdul Baiz Provincial Councils
19 Hon. M. C. Mohamed Faisal Scientific Affairs






Contact Information: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site. 
Last Updated Date: January 28, 2007 - 9.40 GMT


Today's Stories



Government gains majority in Parliament


New Cabinet of Ministers sworn in