News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Wednesday, May 12, 2010 - 5.25 GMT

Committee on US State Department Report gets time till end July


The Committee appointed by President Mahinda Rajapaksa to study and report on the US Department of State's 'Report to Congress on Incidents during the Recent Conflict in Sri Lanka' has been given an extension of time till end July to complete its work.

It was earlier expected to complete the report by April 30, 2010.

Secretary of the Committee, S.M. Samarakoon stated in a media release that it held several sittings and examined public officials including high ranking officers of the armed forces and medical officers who had been attached to Puthukkudiyiruppu, Mullivaikkal and other hospitals during the latter stages of the conflict.

With regard to allegations in the US report that "the government failed to provide sufficient food and medical supplies to people in IDP camps and those who were trapped in the No-fire zones," the committee intended to examine the Commissioner-General of Essential Services, the release further said.

The inquiry process was time consuming and the Committee had to obtain an extension of time to submit its report to the President, as "the Committee had to make painstaking inquiries through its secretary with regard to the availability and present whereabouts of several public officials who functioned during the period in the areas referred to in the report," the release added.

The Committee is to inquire into:

1. The description and background of persons who have been directly referred to in the US Report and the nature of their allegation.
2. The circumstances that may have led to or resulted in references being made in the said Report to the said persons.
3. The nature, propriety and efficacy of the contents of the Report.
4. The appropriate measures that should be taken in accordance with the laws of Sri Lanka with regard to the contents and findings in the said Report, inclusive of recommendations with regard to the specific allegations.

The Committee led by Chairman D.S. Wijesinghe PC, comprises Nihal Jayamannne PC, C.R. De Silva PC, Mano Ramanathan, Jezima Ismail and Anura Meddegoda.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: May 12, 2010.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.