News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Friday, January 07, 2011 - 05.36 GMT

LG bodies dissolved


The government yesterday dissolved all Local Government institutions.
Local Government and Provincial Councils Minister A. L. M Athaulla issuing a special gazette notification in term of the powers vested in him curtailed the one year extension given to Local Government Authorities on April 1, 2010 ending the terms of office.

Accordingly, 268 Local Government Bodies out of 330 Municipal Councils, Town Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas stands dissolved enabling the Election Commissioner to call for fresh elections. Out of 270 Pradeshiya Sabhas election will be held at 228 Pradeshiya Sabhas. Out of 42 Town Councils, elections will be held at 40. Elections for the 18 Municipal Councils will not be held.

The Government will not curtail Local Government bodies in areas where World Cup matches will be played. Municipal Councils, Urban Councils and Pradeshiya Sabhas in Pallekele and Kundasale in the Kandy district, Kolonnawa, Kotte, Dehiwala and Mount Lavinia in the Colombo District and Suriyawewa in the Hambantota district will not be curtailed aiming to ensure the smooth functioning of Cricket World Cup matches.

The term of office of the other Local government bodies will continue until March 31, 2011.

All curtailed Local Government Authorities will come under the control of authorised officers appointed by the President.

Meanwhile, nominations for the dissolved local government bodies will be accepted from January 20-27 at relevant District Secretary’s offices.

According to Department of Election handing over nominations for the local government polls is due to commence on January 20 and would close at 12 noon on January 27. Independent groups contesting the local government polls are required to deposit a sum of Rs. 250 per candidate before 12 noon of January 26.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 07, 2011.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.