News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, January 10, 2011 - 08.26 GMT

Four new ports declared


The Government has declared the Magam Ruhunupura Mahinda Rajapaksa Port (Hambantota), the Norochcholai Peer, Kankasanthurai harbour and the Port of Oluvil as four new ports of entry and departure into the country.

The names of these new entry points have been published in an Extraordinary Gazette notification by President Mahinda Rajapaksa under the Immigrants and Emigrants Act.

At present, the Bandaranaike International Airport at Katunayake and the Sea Port of Colombo are considered to be the main ports of entry. But legally the designated ports of entry and departure in Sri Lanka are three airports, namely Bandaranaike International Airport (BIA) at Katunayaka, Ratmalana Airport and the Palali Airport, and the sea ports at Colombo, Galle, Trincomalee, and Thalaimannar.

Previously Thalaimannar peer was a busiest entry/exit point.

The Department of Immigration and Emigration had opened an office at Norochcholai while the work for Hambantota is being carried out from Galle at present. Norochcholai Port had been made a point of entry and departure as coal was being imported for the power plant there.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 10, 2011.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.