News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, January 10, 2011 - 05.57 GMT

Public servants, leaders in development - President


“Today we have taken up the development challenge in which you are the leaders. The progress we achieve in this regard depends on your commitment. Similar to the Security Forces you too should commit yourselves to the country’s cause,” stated President Mahinda Rajapaksa.

He said so addressing an awards ceremony at Temple Trees on Saturday (8) where District Secretariats and Divisional Secretariats that received ISO 9001/2008 International Standards were presented with certificates and awards.

The President told the awardees that the best standard to achieve is people’s appreciation. He pointed out that it is important to look at problems from the people’s perspective. He pointed out that good coordination between politicians and officials will ensure an efficient public service, adding the government is committed in strengthening the public service.

He added that people who come for their help with tears in their eyes should go back with a smile on their face. He advised them that there should not be any delays in solving public issues and that every effort should be made to address grievances forthwith.

President Rajapaksa also said the award winners were an example and encouragement to others to enhance their standards. He said that the officials however should keep in mind that the most important acknowledgment above all was the people’s mandate and public servants should strive to achieve their respect with an honest, efficient and dedicated service.

Secretary to the President Lalith Weeratunge speaking on the occasion said that public servants have a major task in making Sri Lanka the Wonder of Asia. Development goals are easily achievable when a people friendly public service is established, he said.

Three District Secretariats and 17 Divisional Secretariats received awards from the President for receiving the ISO 9001 certificates for their service.

Minister W D J Seneviratne also spoke on the occasion. The Hambantota, Kalutara and Colombo District Secretariats and the Balapitiya, Nagoda, Ambalangoda, Gangabada-Korale, Homagama, Kaduwela, Kolonnawa, Maharagama, Kesbewa, Padukka, Thimbirigasyaya, Sri Jayawardenapura Kotte, Dehiwela, Moratuwa, Seetawaka, Hanwella and Ratmalana Divisional Secretariats were the award winners.

Maha Sangha, Ministers Dinesh Gunawardena, Gamini Lokuge and Pavithra Wanniarachchi, Western Province Governor Alavi Moulana, Public Administration Deputy Minister Vijaya Dahanayake, Public Administration Ministry Secretary P B Abeykoon, parliamentarians and members of the Provincial Councils were present.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 10, 2011.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.