News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, January 13, 2011 - 05.34 GMT

New Navy Chief appointed


Commander-in-Chief President Mahinda Rajapaksa has appointed Chief of Staff of the Sri Lanka Navy, Rear Admiral D. W. A. S. Dissanayake as the new Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy with effect from 15 January 2011.

Accordingly, Rear Admiral Dissanayake will succeed Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe as the 17th Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy.

During his over 33 year career in the SLN, Rear Admiral Dissanayake has served in many command positions, including the Northern Area Commander in Eelam War IV.

He is the recipient of the highest number of medals and decorative badges including "Weerodara Vibushana", reported.

Earlier, President Rajapaksa promoted Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy Vice Admiral Thisara Samarasinghe to the rank of Admiral with effect from 12th January 2011.

Admiral Samarasinghe was appointed as the 16th Commander of the Sri Lanka Navy on 15 July 2009.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 13, 2011.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.