News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Tuesday, March 22, 2011 - 07.06 GMT

Water resources monitored


The government has initiated ‘Dam Safety and Water Resources Planning project’ to monitor ground water resources in seven areas in the country which have been identified as hazardous due to pollution.

These pilot areas are located in six provinces covering 30 Divisional Secretariat Divisions (DSDs). Both human activities and natural phenomena have contributed towards the pollution of ground water resources in these areas, quoting Project Director D C S Elakanda EPDP news reported.

He said that the largest area of 1990 kms is located in Anuradhapura including eight DSDs to be monitored for reported fluctuation of fluoride concentration believed to be related to Kidney disease.

The DSDs include Medawachchiya, Nuwaragam Palatha (Central), Padaviya, Kebithigollewa, Rambawewa, Horowpathana, Kahatagasdigiliya and Galenbindunuwewa.

Jaffna peninsula is another area which includes Jaffna town, Nallur, Chavakachcheri and Pachchilapallai. Bacteriological contamination as a result of poor sewerage systems and extensive agriculture pollution are reported in this region.

Another two pilot areas are located in Kalpitiya in the Puttalam District and in Ampara District covering Samanthurai, Kalmunai, Ninthavur and Adalachchenai which have reported to be affected by extensive agriculture work.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: March 22, 2011.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.