News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Saturday, February 11, 2012 - 9.20 GMT

Cabinet sub-committee appointed to monitor implementation of HRi Action Plan proposals


The government has decided to appoint a Cabinet Sub-Committee to monitor the process of speedy implementation of the proposals in the country's Human Rights Action Plan.

The Cabinet of ministers has approved the appointments of the members to the Sub-Committee yesterday.

Minister of Irrigation and Water Resources Management Nimal Siripala de Silva, Minister of Economic Development Basil Rajapaksa Minister of External Affairs Prof. G.L. Peiris, Minister of Plantation Industries Mahinda Samarasinghe, Minister of Environment Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, and Minister of Foreign Employment and Welfare Promotion Dilan Perera have been appointed to the sub-committee.

Minister Samarasinghe, who is President's Special Envoy on Human Rights, will continue to function in that post and also as the Chairman of the Inter-Ministerial Officials Committee.

The Plan will be implemented by different ministries and institutions while the inter-ministerial committee will monitor the progress.

Former Attorney General, President's Counsel Mohan Peiris who is also the Senior Legal Advisor to the Cabinet will assist the Cabinet Sub-Committee and the Committee may co-opt the services of any other officials deemed necessary.

The Cabinet of Ministers in September 2011 approved the National Human Rights Action Plan (NHRAP) for implementation.

The Plan was voluntarily prepared by the government in response to a pledge made at the Universal Periodic Review meeting before UN Human Rights Council in 2008.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: February 11, 2012.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.