News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Sunday, April 08, 2012 - 3.00 GMT
New libraries opened in five schools in A’pura


Under the government's 'Nena Guna Piyasa Programme' for schools to promote reading habits among the schoolchildren of rural areas, new libraries have been opened at five rural schools in the Anuradhapura district of the North Central Province yesterday (05).

Secretary to the President Lalith Weeratunga declared open libraries at the Siyambalagaswewa Medagama, Elayapattuwe Maha Ahatuwawa, Sucharithagama, Hidogama Thuruvila and Endagala Sri Sumangala schools in Anuradhapura district.
The Nena Guna Piyasa Programme launched last October under the President's Mahinda Chintanaya concept aims to bring about development in every sphere through development in education.

Under the programme, schools island wide with meager resources are given libraries to cultivate the habit of reading among school children.

Deputy Minister of Irrigation and Water Resources Management W. B. Ekanayake, Chief Minister of North Central Province Berty Premalal Dissanayake, District Secretary , and education directors of the Province attended the event.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: April 08, 2012.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.