News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Saturday, May 12, 2012 - 06.15 GMT
Seventeen forests to be declared forest reserves


The Ministry of Environment has decided to declare 17 forests in seven districts as national forest reserves.

These forest reserves are in Mannar, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu, Trincomalee, Polonnaruwa, Anuradhapura and Colombo districts.

The government expects to protect the forest coverage of the country through this measure. Human activities are thoroughly restricted under law in the forest reserves.

The following forests are to be declared as reserves :

Mannar Districts Mullikulam, Periyamurippu, Vilattikulam,
Mullaitivu District Alaweduwan, Pudukuduirippu, Mankulam, Thunukkai
Kilinochchi District Panikandamadu, Kodikodunthuvil, Maduwilnadu, Punnaweli
Polonnaruwa District Kalegama, Borawewa, Ratmale
Trincomalee District - Pamburugashinna
Anuradhapura District Wellaragama
Colombo District Indikada





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: May 12, 2012.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.