News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, June 28 , 2012 - 7.05 GMT
Three Provincial Councils dissolved


The Eastern, Sabaragamuwa and North Central Provincial Councils were dissolved with effect from midnight yesterday at the request of Chief Ministers, and the relevant Gazette Notification was signed by the respective Governors effecting the dissolution of the Provincial Councils.

The Gazette Notification for the dissolution of the PCs has been sent to the Government Printer, Elections Commissioner Mahinda Deshapriya said.

The United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) gained a landslide victory at the last election in the Sabaragamuwa, North Central and Eastern provinces in 2008.

The UPFA secured 20 seats in the NCP, 25 seats in the Sabaragamuwa and 20 seats in the Eastern Province as against the main Opposition, UNP which secured 12, 17 and 20 seats respectively.


  005 TD  



Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: June 28, 2012.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.