News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Friday, July 06 , 2012 - 06.07 GMT
SL to establish DPL ties with 15 African countries


Sri Lanka to establish diplomatic relations with 15 African countries. Acting on a proposal made by the External Affairs Minister, Prof. G. L. Peiris, the Cabinet of Ministers has approved establishing diplomatic relations with Mauritania, Malawi, Burkina Faso, Chad, Djibouti, Central African Republic, Gabonese Republic, Cameroon, Côte d'Ivoire, Equatorial Guinea, Gambia, Cape Verde, Sierra Leone, Togo, and Niger.

According to the government of the 62 countries that are in the African Region 54 are sovereign states and Sri Lanka maintains residential missions in four countries only - Egypt, Kenya, South Africa and Libya (temporarily closed due to prevailing situation there) with concurrent accreditation to several other African States.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: July 06, 2012.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.