News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, August 02 , 2012 - 5.25 GMT
Sanga nominated for ICC LG People's Choice Award


Cricketer Kumar Sangakkara has been nominated again for International Cricket Council's third annual LG People's Choice Award for his outstanding performances in the past year.

Sangakkara, the last year's winner of the award is shortlisted along with four others for the third edition of the award. The 2010 winner India's Sachin Tendulkar, South Africa's Vernon Philander and Jacques Kallis, and England's James Anderson were the other four.

An elite panel of cricket experts headed by former West Indies captain Clive Lloyd, along with Sri Lanka's Marvan Atapattu, England's Clare Connor, West Indies Carl Hooper and Australia's Tom Moody has nominated the list.

The ICC said in a media release that fans across the globe will have the opportunity to decide the winner, this time by accessing an application on the ICC's official Facebook page:

Voting will be open until midnight UAE time on 31 August with the winner to be announced on 15 September at the LG ICC Awards in Colombo.

"This year sees the two past winners nominated again alongside three other extremely deserving candidates, I'm sure the public will choose wisely as to who will be the 2012 winner of this prestigious award at the LG ICC Awards 2012," ICC Chief Executive David Richardson said.


  003 SS  



Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: August 03, 2012.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.