News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, September 10, 2012 - 5.57 GMT

Provincial Council Elections 2012:
Landslide victory for UPFA


President Mahinda Rajapaksa led UPFA secured an overwhelming mandate at the Provincial Council Elections 2012, winning all three provincial councils –North Central, Eastern and Sabaragamuwa in which elections were held.

The final results showed the UPFA winning 63 seats (including the two bonus seats each in the three provinces) out of 114.

The UPFA polled 102, 7310 votes in the three provinces a majority of 469,425 over its closest rival the United National Party (UNP).

The UNP won 29 seats in the three provinces, with ITAK (11), SLMC (seven), CWC (two), JVP (one) and NFF (one) being the other parties which were able to secure slots in the councils. The UPFA was able to record comfortable victories in all electorates in the Sabaragamuwa and North Central Provinces. The party won five out of seven districts.

The Illangai Tamil Arasu Kachchi (ITAK) won the Batticaloa and Trincomalee districts in the Eastern Province.
The National Freedom Front (NFF) which contested elections for the first time won one seat in the Trincomalee district while former comrades, the JVP too won one.

In the Sabaragamuwa and North Central Provinces, the UPFA improved both its vote tally and seats in comparison to the last PC polls in 2008.

In North Central Province, the UPFA received 61.23 percent of the votes cast winning 21 seats, while in 2008 it got only 56.37 percent with 20 seats. In Sabaragamuwa, the UPFA polled 59.18 percent of the votes winning 28 seats and in 2008 the Party polled 56.34 percent winning 25 seats.

This year, the UPFA’s highest return of votes was recorded from the Balangoda electorate where it obtained 67.29 percent of the votes cast.

Official results found at:





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: September 10, 2012.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.