News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 - 6.15 GMT
Sri Lanka's First-ever Paralympic medal winner felicitated in London


Bronze medal-winner Lance Corporal UDP Pradeep Sanjaya was felicitated by the Sri Lanka High Commission, London.

The Men’s 400m T46 runner Pradeep Sanjaya was presented with an engraved trophy by High Commissioner Dr Chris Nonis to mark what was a historic achievement by the soldier who had been seriously injured at Kilinochchi during the terrorist conflict in Sri Lanka.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa personally spoke to the medal winner by telephone during the presentation ceremony to congratulate him on the honour he has brought to the Nation.

Speaking at the presentation ceremony High Commissioner Dr Chris Nonis said it was a signal achievement for the young soldier and equally for the country and the people of Sri Lanka, for it was the first time that Sri Lanka had won a medal at the Paralympics and more so in the country in which these games originated.

Dr Nonis said that the enthusiasm, courage and determination shown by Pradeep Sanjaya, and indeed the entire team, to overcome physical disabilities, was a matter of great pride, and an inspiration to the younger generation. He also congratulated the Chef de Mission, Brigadier Rajitha Ampemohotti, Colonel Manchanayake, Brigadier Wickramasinghe, Colonel Deepal Herath and the other Paralympic officials and coaches for their exemplary leadership.

Sir Peter Heap, President of the "Friends of Sri Lanka" association, and Lady Olga Maitland, also spoke at the event, which followed on from the previous week’s event at the High Commission held to encourage the paralympic team. They congratulated the team for their perseverance and dedication, and said it was a great tribute to Sri Lanka in the post-conflict era.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: September 12, 2012.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.