News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, September 24, 2012 - 7.52 GMT
Two new Chief Ministers sworn in


The Newly elected 64 United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) representatives of North Central, Eastern, and Sabaragamuwa Provincial Councils were sworn in before President Mahinda Rajapaksa at Presidential Secretariat  today (24).

S.M. Ranjith was sworn in as the Chief Minister of the North Central Province. He obtained the largest number of preferential votes for any candidate in the North Central Province.

Mahipala Herath took oaths as the Chief Minister of Sabaragamuwa Provincial Council before President Rajapaksa.

The UPFA councilor Mohamed Najeeb Abdul Majeed, was sworn in as the New Chief Minister for the Eastern Province last week.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa led UPFA secured an overwhelming mandate at the Provincial Council Elections 2012, winning all three provincial councils –North Central, Eastern and Sabaragamuwa in which elections were held.

The final results showed the UPFA winning 63 seats (including the two bonus seats each in the three provinces) out of 114.

The UPFA polled 102, 7310 votes in the three provinces a majority of 469,425 over its closest rival the United National Party (UNP).






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: September 25, 2012.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.