News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, October 15, 2012 - 6.25 GMT
Administration of 12 divisional secretariats in Sinhala and Tamil


The government has identified 12 new divisional secretariats in nine districts that are required to use both Sinhala and Tamil as their languages in administration.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa declared Dehiwala - Mount Lavinia, Ganga Ihala Korale and the Kandy Four Gravets and Gangawata Korale, Matale, Lankapura and Welikanda in Polonnaruwa, Ratnapura, Balangoda, Mawanella, Kekirawa, Vavuniya South and Dehiattakandiya divisional secretariats should use both languages in their administrations.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa declared 2012 as the Year for a Trilingual Sri Lanka last year.

A 10-year National Action Plan was also launched in 2011. This plan will be implemented together with ministries of National Languages and Social Integration, Education, Higher Education, Public Administration and Provincial Councils.

Trilingual initiative is one of the recommendations by the Lessons Learnt and Reconciliation Commission.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: October 15, 2012.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.