News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Saturday, January 12, 2013 - 04.00 GMT

Impeachment passed


After two days of debating, the impeachment motion against Chief Justice Shirani Bandaranayake was passed in Parliament last evening with a two-thirds majority.

The motion was passed with 155 MPs voting for and 49 against. Twenty members were absent at the time of the voting.

The government members voted for the motion while the United National Party (UNP) and Tamil National Alliance (TNA) MPs voted against the motion. The Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) MPs walked out of parliament at the start of the debate.

According to Standing Order 78(A) section 7, once the motion is passed in Parliament the Speaker would have to present the motion to the President of behalf of Parliament. Thereafter according to Article 107(2) of the Constitution the Chief Justice has to be removed by an order of the President.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 12, 2013.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.