News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, April 18, 2013 - 4.33 GMT
Govt. will not tolerate communal or religious disharmony - President


Government will not tolerate anyone perpetrating acts to create communal or religious disharmony. President Mahinda Rajapaksa said.

President Rajapaksa gave this assurance when a delegation of resident heads of 15 Islamic countries in Sri Lanka, met with him at the Temple Trees this afternoon to discuss various matters of mutual interest pertaining to both domestic and international arenas.

If anyone has proof and evidence of such incidents, the President said, they should hand over that information, and action would be taken promptly, “We are happy to see the eradication of terrorism and a peaceful situation in the country,” said the Palestinian Ambassador in Sri Lanka Dr. Anwar Al-Agha, speaking on behalf of the entire delegation. “We are keen to see even more development," he further added.

President Rajapaksa also thanked the delegation for the support of Islamic countries for Sri Lanka at the U.N. Human Rights Council meeting in Geneva last month. The delegation collectively expressed that they do not condone any country interfering with the domestic issues of another country.

Diplomatic heads from the following countries were present at the meeting: Bangladesh, Iran, Iraq, Egypt, Indonesia, Kuwait, Malaysia, Maldives, Nigeria, Pakistan, Palestine, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia and Qatar.

Minister of External Affairs Prof. G.L. Peiris, Minister of Justice Mr. Rauff Hakeem, Minister of Petroleum Industries Mr. Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Parliamentarian Mr. A.H.M Azwer, Secretary to the President Mr. Lalith Weeratunga and Secretary to the Ministry of External Affairs Mr. Karunatilake Amunugama were also present during the discussion.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: April 18, 2013.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.