News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Tuesday, May 14, 2013 - 4.35 GMT
President declares open new Sri Lankan High Commission in Uganda


President Mahinda Rajapaksa and Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni opened the new Sri Lankan High Commission in Kampala, Uganda yesterday (13).

The new Sri Lankan High Commission in Uganda is the 62nd Sri Lankan diplomatic mission abroad and the 6th in the African continent. The last three were opened during President Rajapaksa’s tenure.

Both Presidents were received at the opening ceremony by the non-resident High Commissioner of Sri Lanka to Uganda Mr. T. Raveenthiran and Honorary Consul of Sri Lanka in Uganda Mr. V. Kananathan.

Minister of External Affairs, Prof. G. L. Peiris and Ugandan Foreign Minister Sam K. Kutesa spoke to the mainly Sri Lankan audience who had gathered for the occasion.

President Rajapaksa also launched the Sri Lankan funded project to upgrade the Masulita Vocational Training Center yesterday afternoon. In an agreement signed during President Musevni’s visit last year, Sri Lanka consented to provide $1.5 million to improve this facility.

President Rajapaka and the delegation arrived in Uganda on May 10. The Sri Lankan and Ugandan delegations held bilateral talks yesterday at the State House in the town of Entebbe. The discussions were focused on economy, trade, power and energy sectors President Rajapaksa also agreed to a request by his Ugandan counterpart, seeking help for the development of apparel sector drawing lessons from Sri Lankan success story, in Uganda.

The Ugandan President hosted the Sri Lankan delegation for a State Banquet yesterday at the Entebbe State Palace.

This is President Rajapaksa’s second official visit to Uganda. The last visit was to attend the Commonwealth Heads of Government Meeting (CHOGM) in 2007. Uganda’s President Yoweri Museveni visited Sri Lanka last November.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: May 14, 2013.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.