News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, June 06, 2013 - 05.05 GMT
U.S. renews Iran sanctions waivers for Sri Lanka and others


The U.S. State Department on Wednesday renewed six-month waivers on Iran sanctions for Sri Lanka and nine other economies in exchange for their agreeing to reduce purchases of oil from Iran.

"The United States and the international community stand shoulder to shoulder in maintaining pressure on the Iranian regime until it fully addresses concerns about its nuclear program," Secretary of State John Kerry said in a statement.

The waivers, which the State Department calls exceptions mean that financial institutions in the consumer countries do not risk being cut off from the U.S. financial system for the next six months.

The other economies the State Department renewed waivers for were China, India, South Korea, Malaysia, Singapore, South Africa, Turkey and Taiwan. Japan and 10 EU countries got waivers earlier this spring.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: June 06, 2013.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.