News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Friday, August 30, 2013 - 06.11 GMT
SAARC Finance Ministers call on President


Finance Ministers from member countries of the South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation (SAARC) who are attending the 6th annual meeting of SAARC Finance Ministers currently being held in Colombo called on President Mahinda Rajapaksa at the President's House this morning.

The group included:

Dr. Hazrat Omar Zakhilwal- Minister of Finance - Afghanistan
Mohammad Mastoor- Deputy Minister of Finance - Afghanistan
Abudul Maal Muhith- Minister of Finance - Bangladesh
Lyonpo Namgay Dorji- Minister of Finance - Bhutan
Namo Narain Meena - State Minister of Finance- India
Shanker Prasad Koirala - Minister of Finance - Nepal
Shahid Mahmood - Additional Secretary Finance- Pakistan
Dr.Fazeel Najeeb - Governor and Chairman, Maldives Monitory Authority - Maldives
Ahmed Saleem - SAARC Secretary General

During the brief meeting views were exchanged on matters of mutual interest and specific to some member countries. Senior Minister of International Monetary Cooperation and Deputy Minister of Finance and Planning, Dr. Sarath Amunugama, Minister of External Affairs , Prof. G. L. Peiris, Minister of Economic Development, Basil Rajapaksa , Secretary to the President, Mr. Lalith Weeratunga, Secretary of Ministry of Finance, Dr. P. B. Jayasundara, Secretary Ministry of External Affairs Karunathilake Amunugama and Central Bank Governor, Ajith Nivard Cabraal were also present.







Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: August 30, 2013.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.