News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Friday, September 20, 2013 - 07.21 GMT
Northern Provincial Council elections tomorrow


The Elections Department is ready to hold Northern Provincial Council elections tomorrow, Sep.21.

This will be the first time the polls will be held for the Northern Provincial Council since the provincial council system was established under the 13th Amendment to the Constitution introduced by the 1987 Indo-Lanka Accord as a measure for power devolution.

Northern Province, which did not have an elected administration since its establishment, was merged with the Eastern Province until a Supreme Court decision in October 2006 separated the two provinces.

The two major parties, the ruling party, United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) and the main opposition United National Party (UNP) handed over nominations to all 10 districts in the three provinces.

The major Tamil party Tamil National Alliance (TNA) will be contesting only for the Northern Province which consists of Jaffna, Vavuniya, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu and Mannar districts.

The polls will elect 56 councilors to the Central Province which is consisted of Kandy, Nuwara Eliya and Matale districts, 50 councilors to the North Western Province consisting Kurunegala and Puttalam districts while 36 councilors are to be elected to the Northern PC.

The Election Department has accepted 201 nominations from 3,785 candidates in total for the three provinces. The political parties have fielded 2,279 candidates while independent groups have fielded 1,506 candidates.

The Election Department has taken measures to invite three international organizations to monitor the elections to assure a free and fair election.

South Asian Association of Regional Cooperation (SAARC), Commonwealth, and the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) will be invited to monitor the polls for Northern, Central and North Western provincial councils.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: September 20, 2013.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.