News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Tuesday, October 08, 2013 - 05.22 GMT
Sri Lanka, India sign agreements on Sampur power plant, language policy


Sri Lanka and India yesterday inked a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on assistance for a trilingual policy and eight agreements related to the establishment of a coal power plant in Sampur of Trincomalee district.

The agreements were signed at the Presidential Secretariat in the presence of the External Affairs Ministers of India and Sri Lanka Salman Khurshid and Prof. G.L. Peiris.

The Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) for Technical Assistance in support of the 10 year National Plan for a Trilingual Sri Lanka was signed by the Secretary to the President Lalith Weeratunga and the High Commissioner of India in Colombo Y. K. Sinha.

The MoU envisages assistance in development of Trilingual (Sinhala, Tamil, English) training skills and expertise in Sri Lanka under which Government of India would provide 180 man days of expert services per year in teaching technique and extend training to 45 Sri Lankan Master Trainers/year for three years starting from 2013.

The eight agreements signed today pertain to various aspects of the power project to set up a coal fired power project of 500 MW capacity through Trincomalee Power Company Limited (TPCL), a 50:50 Joint Venture between India's NTPC Ltd and the Ceylon Electricity Board of Sri Lanka (CEB).

These included a Power Purchase Agreement (PPA), a Land Lease Agreement (LLA), a Coal Supply Agreement (CSA), an Implementation Agreement (IA), Agreement with Sri Lanka Board of Investment (BOI), Deed of Adherence, Extension Joint Venture Agreement (JVA), and Extension Memorandum of Agreement (MOA).

Ministers Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Basil Rajapaksa and Pavithra Wanniarachchi were also present at the signing.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: October 08, 2013.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.