News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Wednesday, December 18, 2013 - 5.00 GMT

New e-Government policy for good governance


The ICT Agency of Sri Lanka (ICTA) has decided to amend the eGovernment policy appropriately . The first eGovernment policy in Sri Lanka “the ICT Policy and Procedures for the Government (eGovernment Policy) was initially approved by the Cabinet of Ministers on 2009-12-16 . It was to be implemented by all government organizations including Ministries, Government Departments, Provincial Councils, District Secretariats, Divisional Secretariats and Local Government Authorities.

With rapid changes in the technologies and with the advancement of eGovernment implementation, it is required to review and reformulate the eGoverment policy, states the ICTA.

ICTA considered good governance principles termed “Good Governance Octagon” and formulated its own 10 Good Governance objectives. These are as follows:

Objective 1 – Make government information available and accessible electronically to citizens through multiple channels

Objective 2 – Make government services electronically available and accessible to all citizens via multiple channels in a citizen friendly manner

Objective 3 – Improve/Re-engineer government processes to be citizen centric

Objective 4 – Use eGovernment to eliminate duplication in ICT Infrastructure, information collection, government processes and ICT solutions within and across government organizations

Objective 5 - Use of ICT to achieve, measure, monitor and publish defined service levels for all government services

Objective 6 – Address the requirements/needs of marginalized communities through ICT

Objective 7 – Implement processes and systems in government organizations to be highly responsive and interactive through the use of ICT

Objective 8 – Enable citizen engagement through electronic means for consensus driven, public policy and decision making process wherever authorized

Objective 9 – Strengthen rule of law through the use of ICT

Objective 10 – Establish and implement of a proper enabling operational framework for successful eGovernance

Based on the vision “To be the most citizen-friendly Government through eGovernance” ICTA through the eGovernment team has thus come up with a new draft eGovernment policy. The eGovernment policy of 2009 had 177 policy clauses. The new policy comprises 132 policy clauses formulated after group activities and inter-action taking into consideration the feedback, trends in technology and stakeholder thinking.

For view of the draft new eGovernment policy and expression of views  Views of stakeholders are welcome till 31st December, 2013, the ICTA adds.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: December 18, 2013.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.