News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Wednesday, January 01, 2014 - 8.01 GMT

President distributes title deeds to 5,000 Mahaweli families


Under the first phase of the national program to distribute 40,000 Mahaweli title deeds, President Mahinda Rajapaksa today distributed 5,000 title deeds to families in Walava Mahaweli Zone.

The ceremonial distribution of deeds took place at Ruhunu Magampura International Conference Centre in Hambantota yesterday.

By giving the families the full ownership of the land under the national development program the government expects the deed recipients to develop their lands.

Speaker Chamal Rajapaksa, Ministers Nimal Siripala de Silva, Jagath Pushpakumara, and Mahinda Amaraweera, Deputy Minister W. B. Ekanayake, Secretary to the Irrigation & Water Resources Management Ministry K.W. Ivan de Silva, and Director General of Mahaweli Authority Gamini Rajakaruna were also present at the occasion.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 01, 2014.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.