News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Wednesday, March 19, 2014 - 06.15 GMT

More Mahindodaya Technical Labs opened


President Mahinda Rajapaksa opened more Mahindodaya technical labs recently, under the programme to establish Mahindodaya Technical Laboratories to develop thousand secondary Schools with modern amenities. 

Accordingly, President opened new Mahindodaya Technological Laboratories at Karandeniya Maha Vidyalaya, Elpitiya Ananda Maha Vidyalaya and Haburugala Elakaka Maha Vidyalaya in Southern Province yesterday (March 18).

President also opened Mahindodaya lab in Pamburana Shariputhra Maha Vidyalaya, Matara on March 16.

In addition, two Mahindodaya Laboratories in St John’s Collage Panadura and Dr Richard Pathirana Vidyalaya and Sumangala Vidyalaya in Kalahe were opened by the President on March 10 while another four labs were opened on March 11 in Dorape Vidyalaya, Imaduwa, Rohana Vidyalaya, Ahangama, Dikkumbura Vidyalaya and Dharmishta vidyalaya, Katukurunda by the President.

President will open four more Mahindodaya Technical Laboratories at the schools in Kelaniya, Mirigama, Divulapitiya and Maharagama in Western Province on 20th of this month.

The Government has activated ‘Mahindodaya’ technical laboratories program to develop thousand secondary Schools with modern amenities to provide more equal educational opportunities for children in urban and rural areas by enhancing facilities in schools.

The Laboratories are equipped with a science laboratory, mathematics laboratory, language laboratory, distance education unit and an information and communication laboratory.

The aim of the programme is to get rid of the popular schools concept and build schools with developed facilities. Many modern facilities are being provided to these schools establishing Mahindodaya Technical Laboratories with the sole intention of enhancing the knowledge of the children.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: March 19, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.