News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, March 20, 2014 - 06.04 GMT

Missing Persons Commission Commences Sittings in the East


The Presidential Commission to investigate cases of persons from the Northern and Eastern Provinces who went missing during the period 19902009 commenced its first public sittings in the eastern part of the country in the Batticaloa District today.

The public hearings will take place from March 2022, 2014, in the towns of Chenkallady, Vakarai and Batticaloa, covering 56 Grama Niladhari Divisions in the district.

Below are details of the times and locations that the Commission will hear oral submissions of those persons who have already submitted their complaints. The Commission will register any new complainants on the days of the public sittings. A date for hearing those complaints would be notified to the complainant.

March 20
DS Division: Eravurpattu (Chenkalady)
G.N. Divisions: 24
Number of Complaints: 74
Venue: Divisional Secretariat, Chenkalady
Time: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.

March 21
DS Division: 1. Koralaipattu South (Kiran)
2. Koralaipattu North (Vaharai)
G.N. Divisions: 5 (Kiran) and 4 (Vaharai)
Number of Complaints: 33 (Kiran) and 31 (Vaharai)
Venue: Regie Cultural Hall, Kiran
Time: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.

March 22
DS Division: Manmunai North (Batticaloa Town)
G.N. Divisions: 23
Number of Complaints: 80
Venue: Divisional Secretariat, Batticaloa
Time: 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m.

The Commission held its first public sittings in the Kilinochchi District in the Northern Province from January 1821, 2014, where it heard complaints from 440 people. Another 984 people made submissions from Feb. 1417, 2014, when the Commission conducted its sittings in the Jaffna District.

The Commission has thus far received a total of approximately 16,000 complaints from all parts of the country. Of those complaints, approximately 9,300 are of civilian disappearances while 4,300 are of disappearances of security personnel.

The three-member Commission, comprising Mr. Maxwell Parakrama Paranagama (Chairman), Mrs. Dimingu Badathuruge Priyanthi Suranjana Vidyaratne and Mrs. Mano Ramanathan, has been given the authority to conduct inquiries and investigations necessary, and submit a report to the President.

President Mahinda Rajapaksa extended the mandate of the Commission by another six months until August 2014.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: March 20, 2014.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.