News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, May 12, 2014 - 9.54 GMT

New Ambassadors pledge continued support to Sri Lanka, keen on strengthening ties


Six new ambassadors presented their credentials to President Mahinda Rajapaksa at the Presidential Secretariat this morning:

Mr. Felix Ngoma
Ambassador of Congo
(Resident – New Delhi)

Mr. Raul Ignacio Guastavino
Ambassador of Argentina
(Resident – New Delhi)

Mr. Chang Won-sam
Ambassador of the Republic of Korea

Mr. Vicente Vivencio T. Bandillo
Ambassador of Philippines
(Resident – Dhaka)

Mr. Zuhair Hamdallah Zaid
Ambassador of Palestine

Mr. Guillermo Rubio Funes
Ambassador of El Salvador
(Resident – New Delhi)

The Ambassadors brought messages of good wishes from their respective heads of state to President Rajapaksa as well as the Sri Lankan people and pledged to work towards further strengthening bilateral ties.

“Congo will continue to support the Government of Sri Lanka in the United Nations Human Rights Council (UNHRC) in Geneva,” Mr. Ngomo told the President.

Argentina’s Ambassador Mr. Guastavino said his objective during his tenure is to develop new areas of cooperation, especially in trade.

Mr. Won-sam from Korea told the President he had three specific goals towards enhancing bilateral relations between the two nations: (1) To further consolidate the foundations of bilateral relations; (2) To boost trade and investment; and (3) To expand relations into new areas.

President Rajapaksa briefed the new ambassadors of post-war developments in Sri Lanka and requested them to travel in Sri Lanka, speak to people from various sectors, learn the true ground reality and report the truth about Sri Lanka back to their countries.

Deputy Minister of External Affairs Mr. Neomal Perera, Secretary to the President Mr. Lalith Weeratunga and Secretary of the Ministry of External Affairs Mrs. Kshenuka Senewiratne were also present.




Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: May 12, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.