News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, June 19, 2014 - 06.02 GMT
Motion against UNHRC probe passed in Parliament


The resolution against the UNHRC probe on Sri Lanka was passed in Parliament with 144 votes in favour. Only 10 TNA MPs voted against it. The UNP abstained from voting and SLMC and JVP were absent at the time of the voting.

A motion signed by nine parliamentarians against the international investigation on Sri Lanka had been submitted to the Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake last week. The motion submitted by MPs Achala Jagodage, Malini Fonseka, Janaka Bandara, Uditha Lokubandara, A.H.M. Azwer, Shantha Bandara, J.R.P Suriyapperuma, Nimal Wijesinghe and Duminda Silva says that the Investigation against Sri Lanka by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights should not be held.

External Affairs Minister G.L. Peiris wound up the debate, with an explanation to the House on the reasons for the rejection of this inquiry by the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR).

Calling the OHCHR move ‘intrusive and grossly unfair’, the minister said there was no balanced assessment of the country’s achievements on the ground, the resettlement of Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs), the re-integration of ex combatants and the development of huge infrastructure in the war affected areas. “Even if there is any recognition, it has been grudging and belated,” he said.

Besides, the minister charged that there was no uniformity in standards applied in the case of Sri Lanka. He said that though some countries stressed the need to flash a spotlight on Sri Lanka, it was time for them to turn the searchlight inward.

Mr Janaka Bandara M.P., speaking during the debate said, Parliament should resolve that the proposed investigation should not be carried out on the ground that such a course of action is detrimental to the process of reconciliation and peace and that it erodes the sovereignty, dignity and stature of Sri Lanka. “We want to deliver a strong message to the world on Sri Lanka’s stand that the country is totally against this investigation. The UN has initiated a probe into Sri Lanka’s war with the appointment of a 12 member investigative team. We will not cooperate with the probe and allow the 12 member UN team into the country to conduct their investigation. The Constitution is the supreme law of Sri Lanka. All the MPs are duty bound to uphold and safeguard the Constitution. The Constitution states that Sri Lanka is a sovereign, independent, democratic and republic country,” he said.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: June 19, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.