News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, June 23, 2014 - 05.51 GMT
No room for another Prabhakaran - President


No room will be left for the emergence of another Prabhakaran who brought misery to all ethnic groups including the Tamils, President Mahinda Rajapaksa said.

The President was addressing the Badulla District Development Committee meeting at the Postal Complex Auditorium in Badulla on Saturday (June 21).

President Rajapaksa said the Government faced much difficulty to find educated persons for teacher recruitment since education in the North and East was hampered by Prabhakaran.

Even after much effort, Education Ministry officials failed to recruit enough teachers and to fill teacher shortage in the schools so far, he said.

The President noted this situation was created by Prabhakaran.

Hence, the Government will never leave room for another Prabhakaran who destroyed the country's peaceful environment, ethnic harmony and coexistence," he said.

President Rajapaksa said the Government will launch water projects to provide drinking water facilities as a remedy to a long felt need of the people in the Badulla District.

These mega scale water projects are scheduled to be completed by 2018. After considering the present and future requirements of the education sector, the technology stream was introduced to the Advanced Level. The technology steam will be an ideal solution for reducing unemployment, he said.

The President ordered the officials to take immediate measures to protect wildlife and halt timber rackets highlighting the value of protecting flora and fauna since mega scale timber smuggling rackets and wildlife destruction cause severe environment impact. President Rajapaksa asked the officials to end teacher shortage in rural schools by implementing a proper teacher transfer scheme.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: June 23, 2014.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.