News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Sunday, June 29, 2014 - 04.11 GMT
President Declare Open Sri Lanka High Commission in Seychelles


President Mahinda Rajapaksa on a state visit to Seychelles declared open the Sri Lankan High Commission in Seychelles (28). The High Commission is located at Capital City Building in Independence Avenue, Victoria.

Sri Lanka and Seychelles established formal diplomatic relations in 1988. The first resident mission office which was opened today was set up in December 2013. Mr. Rajatha Piyatissa has been appointed as Sri Lanka’s first High Commissioner in Seychelles. Marking the official opening of the Mission President Rajapaksa unveiled the plaque and lighted the traditional oil lamp.

Seychelles President James A. Michel, Vice President Danny Faure, Minister for Community Development, Social Affairs and Sports of Seychelles Vincent Meriton and the Leader of the Opposition Wavel Ramkalawan participated in the ceremony. The two Presidents signed the Visitor’s Book.

Minister of External Affairs Prof. G. L. Peiris addressing the gathering said establishing and renewing relations with African nations including Seychelles has been included as a principle in Mahinda Chinthana Forward Vision. While thanking the Seychelles leader for donating a valuable plot of land form the capital for a permanent office the Minister said President Rajapaksa has decided to allocate a suitable land from the capital to open the Seychelles High Commission in Sri Lanka.

Opening of the High Commission is a landmark in the bilateral relations between the two countries, Mr. Vincent Meriton said. Enhancing bilateral relations between our two countries will not only beneficial to the peoples of the two countries but also for the global peace and prosperity. He requested Sri Lanka’s assistance for Seychelles for a non-permanent membership in UN Security Council. Seychelles will be a getaway for Sri Lanka to enter the African region as well as Sri Lanka will be a gate for Seychelles to enter to Asia, he said.

Minister of Higher Education Mr. S.B. Dissanayake, Monitoring MP of the Ministry of External Affairs Mr. Sajin de Vass Gunawardena, Members of Parliament Mr. A.H.M. Azwar, Mr. Lohan Ratwatta, Mr. Udith Lokubandara, Mr. Ranjith de Zoysa and Mr. Thenuka Vidanagamag, Secretary to the President Mr. Lalith Weeratunga and Sri Lanka’s High Commissioner in Seychelles Mr. Rajatha Piyatissa were also present.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: June 29, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.