News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Sunday, June 29, 2014 - 04.08 GMT
Sri Lanka and Seychelles Sign 06 Agreements Including Establishment of a Joint Commission


Sri Lanka and Seychelles today signed an agreement for the establishment of a Joint Commission on cooperation before Presidents Mahinda Rajapaksa and James A. Michel at the State House in Victoria (28).

The Joint Commission will guide the entire bilateral cooperation mechanism including identifying areas of bilateral cooperation, arriving at agreements, implementation, identifying issues, and finding solutions.

In addition, the two Presidents witnessed the signing of five more agreements between Sri Lanka and Seychelles.
They were:

- Agreement on bilateral political consultation
- Agreement on cooperation on tourism
- Memorandum of Understanding to promote technical and investment cooperation in the power sector  development in general and the implementation of renewable energy projects in Seychelles
- Agreement on cultural cooperation
- Memorandum of Understanding in the field of sports

Minister of External Affairs Prof. G. L. Peiris and Minister for Community Development, Social Affairs and Sports of Seychelles Vincent Meriton signed the agreements on behalf of their countries.

A high level delegation from including Vice President of Seychelles Mr. Danny Faure attended the signing ceremony while Minister of Higher Education Mr. S.B. Dissanayake, Monitoring MP of the Ministry of External Affairs Mr. Sajin de Vass Gunawardena, Members of Parliament Mr. A.H.M. Azwar, Mr. Lohan Ratwatta, Mr. Udith Lokubandara, Mr. Ranjith de Zoysa and Mr. Thenuka Vidanagamag, Secretary to the President Mr. Lalith Weeratunga and Sri Lanka’s High Commissioner in Seychelles Mr. Rajatha Piyatissa represented Sri Lanka at the signing ceremony.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: June 29, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.