News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Tuesday, July 22, 2014 - 04.34 GMT
“Pura Neguma” to develop 22 local govt agencies


Twenty two local government agencies in the Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Puttalam and Monaragala districts have been selected for development under the Pura Neguma project, said Economic Development Minister Basil Rajapaksa.

The minister was speaking at a ceremony held to distribute Australian Aid among 22 local government agencies at a rate of Rs.50 million each at the Economic Development Ministry recently.

US $ 86 million will be spent for this purpose, out of which US $ 50 million will be made available through the World Bank as a loan from the International Development Agency, while US $ 18.8 million will be a grant from the Australian Government, with the balance met by the government.

He said 188 local government agencies have been developed under the Local Government Ministry and the balance 22 agencies have been selected for development under several components.

Ministers S. M. Chandrasena and Sumedha Jayasena, North Western Province Chief Minister Dayasiri Jayasekera, District Secretaries of Anuradhapura, Polonnaruwa, Puttalama and Moneragala, the Australian Ambassador to Sri Lanka, World Bank Representatives and heads of local government agencies were also present.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: July 22, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.