News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, July 28, 2014 - 06.39 GMT
Lanka to establish 10 Botanical Gardens


The Department of National Botanical Gardens has taken steps to establish ten botanical gardens in the island within the next two years in Sripada, Knuckles, Horton Planes, Sinharaja, Ratnapura, Nuwara Eliya and Ambagamuwa for each distinct bio diversity zones.

Recently, the Government opened the fourth botanical garden of the island after 137 years and for the first time after the independence. The new botanical garden, Mirijjawila dry zone botanical garden, built on 300 acres of land at Mirijjawila in Hambantota District is the biggest botanical garden in Sri Lanka.

A botanical garden is now being developed in Avissawella in a land of 105 acres with the aim of conserving threatened wet zone flora. Also, a herbal botanical garden is being built in Ganewatta in Kurunegala.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: July 28, 2014.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.