News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, August 25, 2014 - 05.50 GMT
Eighteen Lagoons to be developed


The Coast Conservation Department in collaboration with the Ministry of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources has taken steps to develop 18 lagoons in the island and it is expected to complete development work before the end of 2015.

The lagoons that are to be developed are Negombo, Rekawa, Koggala, Urani and Naraduwa lagoons will be developed this year. Kokilai,Maduwa, Thalan, Lanka Patuna, Batticaloe, Chulanthali, Nagaru, Chilaw, Chalai and Nandikadal. Arrangements are in place to remove unauthorized establishments in the lagoon areas and develop them without harming their bio-diversity.

Accordingly, Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development Ministry officials recently commenced development activities in the Negombo lagoon under the patronage of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development Deputy Minister Sarath Kumara Gunaratne.

Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development Minister Dr. Rajitha Senaratne held discussions with Urban Development Authority (UDA) officials and officials of other institutions affiliated to the Fisheries Ministry on developing the Negombo lagoon according to a special Lagoon Management Plan.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: August 25, 2014.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.