News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Wednesday, November 05, 2014 - 9.56 GMT
Angelo Mathews named as the captain of ICC Test Team of 2014


Sri Lanka cricket captain Angelo Mathews has been named as the captain of ICC Test Team of the Year 2014.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today announced its Test and ODI Teams of the Year, as chosen by a specially appointed selection panel chaired by the ICC’s Cricket Committee chairman and former India captain Anil Kumble.

The announcement was made by Mr Kumble at a media conference at the ICC Headquarters in Dubai, where ICC Chief Executive David Richardson also announced the short-lists for the LG ICC Awards 2014.

2014 ICC Test team also includes Kumar Sangakkara and Rangana Herath. According to ICC this is the seventh time since 2006 that Sangakkara has been selected in the ICC Test Team of the Year.

Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni has been selected in the ICC ODI Team of the Year.

Mathews, a student of St. Joseph's College, Colombo made his first-class debut for Colombo Cricket Club in November, 2006.

He made his international debut in a One Day International against Zimbabwe in November 2008 and made his Test debut against Pakistan at Galle in July, 2009. He was a key member of the Lankan team that won the 2014 World Twenty20 championship and was part of the team that made the final of the 2011 Cricket World Cup and 2012 World Twenty20 championship. In February 2013, Mathews became Sri Lanka's youngest ever Test captain at 25. He captained the Lankan team in its monumental Test series win in England (2014).

ICC Test Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order):

David Warner (Aus)
Kane Williamson (NZ)
Kumar Sangakkara (SL)
AB de Villiers (SA)
Joe Root (Eng)
Angelo Mathews (SL) (captain)
Mitchell Johnson (Aus)
Stuart Broad (Eng)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Rangana Herath (SL)
Tim Southee (NZ)
Ross Taylor (NZ) (12th man)

ICC ODI Team of the Year 2014 (in batting order):

Mohammad Hafeez (Pak)
Quinton de Kock (SA)
Virat Kohli (Ind)
George Bailey (Aus)
AB de Villiers (SA)
MS Dhoni (wicketkeeper) (captain)
Dwayne Bravo (WI)
James Faulkner (Aus)
Dale Steyn (SA)
Mohammad Shami (Ind)
Ajantha Mendis (SL)
Rohit Sharma (Ind) (12th man)

The Chairman of the LG ICC Awards Selection Panel, Anil Kumble, said: “Team selection is one of the toughest jobs and when you have a large pool of outstanding players to select from in a 12-month period between 26 August 2013 and 17 September 2014, then it becomes even more difficult.

“However, we think we have selected the best possible sides, which are well balanced and capable of beating any side on any given day in any given conditions. While selecting these squads, the selectors discussed various combinations and took into account several scenarios like opposition, pitch conditions and match situations.”

Kumble was joined on the panel by Jonathan Agnew, a former England international and now a respected broadcaster/journalist, ex-Sri Lanka opener Russel Arnold, former New Zealand captain Stephen Fleming, and Betty Timmer, former Chair of the ICC Women’s Committee.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: November 05, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.