News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Wednesday, November 19, 2014 -  05.14 GMT
President completes fourth year of second term in office


President Mahinda Rajapaksa completes his fourth year, in his second term in office today (Nov. 19).

President Rajapaksa was elected for the second time as the Executive President with a majority of 1.8 million votes in 2010. He was sworn in for the second term after a landslide victory at the November 19, 2010 Presidential election.

He fulfilled the aspirations of millions of people, liberating the country from the clutches of terrorism after becoming the President winning the election held on November 17, 2005. He was sworn in as the Executive President on November 19, 2005, for his first term.

The country is being taken forward under the Mahinda Chintana future vision program. The entire country is being subjected to radical changes to meet the demands of an ever advancing world. With his visionary leadership, President Rajapaksa has been able to bring permanent peace after liberating the country from three decades of terrorism in just three years.

After completing the first term wining the hearts of the people, he contested the Presidential election held on January 26, 2010 for his second term. At the election, the masses elected him as the Executive President with a large majority. He obtained a 1.8 million majority votes over his opponent who contested as a common candidate of the opposition.

President Rajapaksa began his political career contesting the general election in 1970. Winning the election after contesting the Beliatta electorate, he became the youngest parliamentarian in the 1970 Parliament.

It is significant that he is with the people always. He was an active member of people’s movements leading the Pada Yathra, Jana Gosha, Minis Damwel agitations. When the PA government came to power in 1994, he was made Labour Minister and Fisheries Minister and later became the opposition leader of the Parliment after the UNP came to power in 2002.

He became the Prime Minister after the UPFA won the 2004 General Election and became the President in 2005.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: November 19, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.