News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Friday, December 12, 2014 - 5.28 GMT
President pays homage at Sri Dalada Maligawa & Jaya Sri Maha Bodhi


President Mahinda Rajapaksa paid obeisance to the Sacred Tooth Relics at the Sri Dalada Maligawa in Kandy Yesterday (Dec. 11).

The President arrived at the Sri Dalada Maligawa in Kandy last morning and venerated the Sacred Tooth Relics. The Ven. Wedaruwe Uapli Thera of the Asgiriya Chapter who is in charge of the “Thewawa” at the Dalada Maligawa conducted the religious observances. Members of the Maha Sangha chanted Jaya Pirith and blessed the President. A large number of devotees were present on the occasion.

The Dalada precincts were filled with devotees. These devotees approached the President and wished him strength and courage for his victory.

In the meantime, the President also joined in the offering of “Heel Dana” to the Sangha at the Dalada Maligawa.

Members of the Sangha including the Anunayake of the Malwatte Chapter the Ven. Niyangoda Vijithasiri Thera and the Ven. Dimbulkumbure Wimaladhamma Thera, and the Anunayake of the Asgiriya Chapter the Ven. Galagama Atthadassi Thera chanted Pirith and showered their blessings on President Rajapaksa.

President Rajapaksa also observed religious observances at the Jaya Sri Maha Bodhi.

Maha Sangha including the Chief Incumbent of the Jaya Sri Maha Bodhi Ven. Pallegama Sirinivasa Nayaka Thero, Chief Incumbent of Ruwanweli Maha Seya Ven. Pallegama Hemarathana Nayaka Thero, Chief Incumbent of Mirisawetiya Eethalawetunuwewe Gnanathilaka Nayaka Thero and Chief Incumbent of Jayanthi Vihara chanted pirith and invoked blessings on the President.

A large crowd was present.

Ministers Susil Premajayantha, Pavithra Wanniarachchi, S.M.Chandrasena, Nirmala Kothalawala, Deputy Minister Lasantha Alagiyawanna, North Central Province Governor Karunarathna Divulgane and Chief Minister S.M.Ranjith were present.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: December 12, 2014.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.