News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Friday, January 30, 2015 - 5.19 GMT

New MP sworn in to fill President's seat


Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) member Jayasinghe Bandara was sworn in as a Parliamentarian yesterday to fill the parliamentary seat vacated by President Maithripala Sirisena.

Bandara, who contested the 2010 General Election from the Polonnaruwa District under the United People's Freedom Alliance (UPFA) of which SLFP is the main constituent, received the 5th highest number of preference votes for the party.

Four MPs were elected to Parliament from the Polonnaruwa District at the 2010 election and Jayasinghe Bandara's name was next in the UPFA list.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: January 30, 2015.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.