News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Friday, May 15, 2015 - 4.47 GMT

Cabinet Subcommittee to look into proposed electoral system


A Cabinet Sub-committee has been appointed to study and report the new electoral system. The committee is comprised of Ministers, Dr. Sarath Amunugama, S.B. Dissanayake, Lakshman Kiriella, Kabir Hasheem, Champika Ranawaka, Rauf Hakeem, Gayantha Karunatilleke, Palani Digambaram and Rishard Badiudeen.

Addressing the weekly cabinet briefing held at the Government Information Department yesterday (May 14) Cabinet Spokesman Minister Rajitha Senaratne said relevant report must be submitted to the cabinet meeting to be held on the 20th of this month. The proposal of a mixed voting system comprising of the first pass the post and the proportional representation was presented to the cabinet on Wednesday.

Many political parties in parliament, but not representing the cabinet, have submitted proposals. Minister Senaratne said the Government hopes to pass the 20th constitutional amendment prior to the dissolution of parliament. The political parties have agreed to a mixed system comprising of 255 members of Parliament.

The Government has decided to pave the way for the expiry of the local government institutions at the end of the period of these institutions. The Minister also said that there will not be an extension of these bodies as a mixed electoral system based on the electorate level will be conducted.





Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: May 15, 2015.

Copyright 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.