News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Thursday, June 11, 2015 - 07.24 GMT

Ratnasiri Wickremanayake & D. M. Jayaratne appointed as Senior Political Advisors to President


Former Prime Ministers, Ratnasiri Wickremanayake and D. M. Jayaratne were appointed as Senior Political Advisors to the President.

President Maithripala Sirisena made these appointments today (June 11) at Presidential Secretariat.

Mr. Ratnasiri Wickremanayake, who is currently a Member of Parliament served as the Prime Minister from August 2000 to December 2001, during the regime of the People’s Alliance Government and again from November 2005 to April 2010 during the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) Government.

His first election to Parliament was in 1960.

Mr. D. M. Jayaratne, a veteran Politician with nearly three-decade experience in the field served as Prime Minister of Sri Lanka from April 2010 to January 2015. Mr. Jayaratne was first elected to parliament in 1970.

Secretary to the President P. B. Abeykoon was also presented in the occasion.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: June 11, 2015.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.