News Line

    Go to Home Back
Email this to a friend
Printable version
Monday, August 17, 2015 - 13.20 GMT
General Election 2015: Voting commences


Voting for General Election 2015 commenced at 7am today (August 17). It concludes at 4pm. The Elections Commissioner requests all eligible to vote early and go to the polling centre with a valid ID.

Over 6100 candidates from a record 35 political parties and 200 independent groups are vying for 196 parliamentary seats at today’s General Elections. Polling will be conducted in 12,314 polling centers island-wide, including in the seven islets in the Northern Province.

According to the Election Department 15,440,491 people are eligible to vote.

The police had deployed 70,549 police officers across the country to provide security on the Election Day. In addition, 4,825 officers of elite Special Task Force (STF) police and 7,000 Civil Defense Force personnel will also be deployed for election duties.

In addition, 161 riot police squads will be deployed in certain areas of the country in order to maintain peace and order during tomorrow’s elections. Two Police Officers have been assigned to each polling booth. The mobile services of the STF will also be in operation.

The Colombo District will return the largest for a single district with 19 MPs, 18 MPs from Gampaha,10 MPs from Katutara , 12 MPs from Kandy , 5 MPs from Matale , 8 MPs from Nuwara-eliya , 10 MPs from Galle, 8 MPs from matara, 7 MPs from Hambantota , 7 MPs from Jaffna, 6 MPs from the Wanni electoral division, 5 MPs from Batticoloa, 7 MPs from Digamadulla, 4 MPs from Tricomalee , 15 MPs from Kurunegala , 8 MPs from Puttalam, 9 MPs from Anuradhapura, 5 MPs from Polonnaruwa , 8 MPs from Badulla, 5 MPs from Monaragala , 11 MPs from Ratnapura and 9 MPs from the Kegalle electoral division.

6151 candidates are said to be contesting for this years general elections with 792 from Colombo, 588 from Gampaha, 286 from Kalutara, 468 from Kurunegala, 264 from Puttalam, 96 from Moneragala, 165 from Badulla, 221 from Galle, 187 from Matara, 170 from Hambonthota, 242 from Anuradhapura, 88 from Pollonnaruwa, 280 from Ratnapura, 228 from Kegalle, 253 from Nuwara Eliya, 360 from Kandy, 176 from Matale, 147 from Trincomalee, 368 from Batticaloa, 310 from Ampara, 210 from Jaffna and 252 from Wanni.






Contact Information:: Send mail to with questions or comments about this web site.
Last modified: August 18, 2015.

Copyright © 2008 Policy Research & Information Unit of the Presidential Secretariat of Sri Lanka. All Rights Reserved.